Class 28 Feb, 2016

July 19, 2016 Comments Off on Class 28 Feb, 2016

Feb 29, 2016  2:39 PM

A beautiful and very warm day.  I wore sandals today!

 

AGENDA ITEMS

 

1 Alphabet – spelling dictation

 

2 Grammar – pronouns

 

3 Review and rewrite papers

 

NOTES

 

Vocabulary

Alphabet – spelling dictation

I will say the words and I will spell them.  Write the letters for each word when I spell the words.

 

Help

Site

Sight

Learn

Lean

Might

Scent

Sent

Simple

Trade

Tried

Made

Make

Cry

Die

Stay

Maybe

Ear

Earn

 

• We need to practice i and e

• Bingo?

Grammar – pronouns

 

1). Personal Pronouns

Pronouns can be:

Subjects – I, you, he, she, it, we, you, they

• Direct objects – me, you, him, her, it, us, you, them

• Indirect objects – the same as Direct objects

 

In this context an “object” is a thing or person, an item – a noun.

 

Subjects are the topic of the sentence.  A subject is something or someone that is doing the action, the verb.

• Example: I drive fast.

• The subject is “I”

 

Direct object is the person or thing that the verb is acting on.

• Example: I drive the car fast.

• The direct object is “the car”.  I drive it fast.

 

Finish Indirect Objects next Monday. 

Indirect objects tell us about the person or thing that benefits from the action of the verb.

• Example: I bought a car for her.  Or: I bought her a car.

• The Indirect object is “her”.  The direct object is “car”.

I bought a car.  I did not buy her.  

• She received the benefit of the verb “bought”.

 

2). Do in questions and negative statements

  • Use Do or Does to form questions.  “Do” changes with the subject in questions, the verb is in the base form and does not change.
  • Use Don’t or Doesn’t to make verbs negative.  Again, “Do” changes with the subject, the verb is in the base form.
Examples:
Does he like vegetables?  NOT Does he likes vegetables?
No, he doesn’t like vegetables.  NOT No, he doesn’t likes vegetables.

Homework

J and L reviewed and rewrote their summaries from the articles they read last week or their papers.  They will write them correctly online Wednesday.

 

ACTION ITEMS

 

[ ] Buy dry erase markers

 

[ ] Create exercises for subjects and direct objects online

 

[ ] Chapter and worksheets for personal pronouns

 

 

Comments are closed.

What’s this?

You are currently reading Class 28 Feb, 2016 at Toni's ESL class.

meta

